Labels: , , , ,

Joseph Estrada, Vilma Santos lead stars who win the 2013 elections

Stars win and lost the 2013 elections. Photo credit:

There’s no other place on earth will you see a political system so full of glittering celebrities but the Philippines. In this beautiful 7,107-island archipelago by the sea, politics have already intermarried with the entertainment world, so it’s a common scene to see a starlet sitting on the board of a municipal government, or a heavy-weight action star join a debate (albeit mediocrely) in the Senate or Congress.

The 2013 midterm elections saw more stars join the race to grab a slice of political glory. I really don’t know if it’s really the glory or the bounty that they’re after, but one thing is for sure, celebrities are a big hit in the elections.


For Movie and Television Review and Classification Board chairman Grace Poe, only daughter of Movie Queen Susan Roces and the late action king Fernando Poe, Jr., grabbed the first spot in the Senatorial election.

Following her, on the second spot, is former broadcast journalist Loren Legarda, while third in rank is Chiz Escudero, boyfriend of actress Heart Evangelista.

On the fifth place is the controversial candidate Nancy Binay, who, herself, became an instant social media celebrity, following her announcement that she will join the senate race. Binay is the daughter of Vice President Jejomar Binay.

On the seventh spot is former TV host Bam Aquino, first-cousin of President Noynoy Aquino and TV host-actress Kris Aquino.

On the eleventh spot is former San Juan city mayor and congressman JV Ejercito Estrada, son of former President Erap Estrada.


Meanwhile, the movieworld’s Star for All Seasons Vilma Santos-Recto won a landslide victory as governor of Batangas. This will be her third and last term.

Character actor Jeorge “ER” Estregan Ejercito has been elected governor of Laguna.

Meanwhile, model Migz Villafuerte, scion of the powerful clan in Camarines Sur, sets record as the youngest governor at the age of 23. He defeated his grandfather Luis Villafuerte. Migz “succeeded” his father LRay Villafuerte, who was defeated by Dato Arroyo (son of Former President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo) in the congressional race in the fifth district of CamSur.

Meanwhile, Daniel Fernando (Bulacan), Jolo Revilla (Cavite), Jinkee Pacquiao (Sarangani), and Dingdong Avanzado (Siquijor), respectively won the vice-gubernatorial race.

DV Savellano, husband of dramatic actress Dina Bonnevie got reelected as vice governor of Ilocos Sur.


Former President Joseph Estrada was elected Mayor of Manila after a neck-to-neck fight with Alfredo Lim.

Herbert Bautista was the run-away winner as mayor of Quezon City.

Former sexy star Maita Ejercito and wife of Gov. ER Ejercito got reelected as mayor of Pagsanjan, Laguna.
Meanwhile, Carlito Gonzaga, whose daughters are actresses Toni at Alex Gonzaga, has been elected vice mayor of Taytay, Rizal.

Erap’s running mate and former sexy actor Isko Moreno (Francisco Domagoso) was reelected vice mayor of Manila after defeating comedian Lou Veloso.

While numerous stars claimed success this elections, there were also those who unlucky in this race.

Singer-actor Alex Castro (Marilao, Bulacan), singer Rey Valera (Meycauayan, Bulacan), former action star Rey Malonzo (Caloocan City) and dramatic actor Richard Gomez (Ormoc City), failed in the mayoralty race.


As expected boxing champ Manny Pacquiao (Sarangani), scored another success this election. TV host Lucy Torres-Gomez (Leyte, fourth district), actress Lani Mercado (Cavite, second district), and actor Dan Fernandez (Laguna, first district) all garnered landslide victory in the congressional race.

Anton Lagdameo (Davao del Norte, second district), husband of drama actress Dawn Zulueta, once again championed the congressional race.

First-time congressional aspirants actor Alfred Vargas (Quezon City, fifth district), director Lino Cayetano (Taguig City), former ABS-CBN reporter Sol Aragones (Laguna, third district), and PBA coach Yeng Guiao (Pampanga, first district) also won the election.

And while it was a neck-to-neck fight for the fourth district seat in Camarines Sur, actor Aga Muhlach was eventually defeated by Wimpy Fuentebella.

Other actors who got defeated were Christopher de Leon (Batangas, second district), Joey Marquez (Parañaque), Annabelle Rama (Cebu, first district), Rez Cortez (Camarines Sur, fifth district), Imelda Papin (San Jose del Monte, Bulacan), Onemig Bondoc (Bataan, second district), and Shalani Soledad (Valenzuela, second district).


More celebrities are joining the rank of local government officials after having been elected councilors and board members.

Among those who won were Roderick Paulate, Gian Sotto, Lala Sotto, Precious Hipolito, and Anjo Yllana in Quezon City; Roselle Nava, Ryan Yllana, Jason Webb and Alma Moreno in Parañaque City; Charee Pineda in Valenzuela; Daisy Reyes in Pateros; Monsour del Rosario in Makati; Janella Ejercito in San Juan; and Robert Ortega and Yul Servo in Manila.

Meanwhile, Jestino Alarcon (Antipolo City), Gary Estrada (Quezon), Angelica Jones (Laguna), Teri Onor (Bataan), Maricel Morales (Pampanga), Maynard Lapid (Pampanga), Lito Camo (Oriental Mindoro), former PBA player Franz Pumaren (Quezon City), former PBB housemate Bob dela Cruz (Marilao, Bulacan), and Matthew Mendoza (Palawan) were elected board members.

Of these aspirants, TJ Trinidad (Pasay), Ervic Vijandre (Taguig), Allan Paule (Muntinlupa), Emilio Garcia (Laguna), Dennis Padilla (Laguna), Anthony Castelo (Quezon City), Dan Alvaro (Quezon City), Jobelle Salvador (Parañaque), Tado (Marikina), Heber Bartolome (Quezon City), Jograd dela Torre (Manila), and Long Mejia (Calumpit, Bulacan) were unsuccessful in their bid. 


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...


More Stars in Heaven © 2012 | Designed by Canvas Art, in collaboration with Business Listings , Radio stations and Corporate Office Headquarters